Social Networking – where to start?!?

Posted: November 28, 2010 in Social Networking

Welcome to my very first post on my very first blog! Over the next couple of months I will be investigating social media and how it can be used in libraries for staff and clients alike.

I would define social networking as keeping in touch with friends, family, colleagues and many others, using a wide variety of mediums. In the past, social networking was conducted mainly face to face or over the phone. However, there are now many avenues of communication and networking available, and these are becoming part of everyday life. These mediums, such as Facebook, Twitter and so on, allow communication in a form that makes it particularly easy to keep in touch with people who are geographically distant. I currently use Facebook on a regular basis to keep in touch with family and friends interstate (and also to get very distracted playing Facebook games!). I had previously joined Twitter, but was unable to maintain an interest in it. Perhaps this will change over the course of this subject.

I have had no experience with Second Life, Flickr and Del.ici.ous and am looking forward to learning more about these. I have, at times, become quite overwhelmed by the volume of information on Facebook, so am curious to see how I cope with a myriad of media all at once! In addition to this, my work is considering introducing a social media policy, so I will be carefully examining the information about these, to assist my manager in creating one for our organisation.

I am excited, nervous and unsure about this journey and look forward to the next couple of months!

Leave a Reply

